This message is brought to you by . . .

April 13, 2010

One of the strategies for making a living via the web and passive income is to build an email list and then develop a relationship with that list around some niche or interest.

I have a colleague who has built a 10,000+ list over the course of several years. She did it initially by offering a free report on the niche area. It was a good report and lots of people wanted it and told their friends about it. They traded getting on her list for the free report.

Next she did a series of free teleseminars. That got her even more people. Gradually she began to offer some things free (more free reports and live teleseminars), but if you wanted premium stuff, like the ability to download and listen to the teleseminars whenever you want and to get professional continuing education credits for them, you had to purchase them. She has several people who work for her. She pays their salaries and for health care policies for her full-time people. She has a dedicated server. She works her buns off night and day to deliver high-quality, great offerings. And she makes a good living at it. During a time when many similar businesses are in danger of failing, her business is thriving. I’ve learned a lot from her that has helped my business.

She sent out several emails about each offering. And then some people complained. “You are sending too many emails.” “It’s all business and marketing.” Stuff like that. [Of course, the people who complain are a minority; more people write and say they appreciate her offerings and generosity.]

I was fascinated by this. I have gotten a few (very few, really) of the same kinds of emails when I began to email my list more than once a month.  The comments were similar. My response: I give people on my list a bunch of free stuff every month. And this is largely how I make my living now-over the web and with passive income. How hard is it to unsubscribe if you don’t want the emails? Or if you don’t want as many from me, how hard is it to use your little finger to delete the emails you don’t want? (That is why God – or Bill Gates or Steve Jobs – invented the Delete key, right?)

I was thinking back to when I grew up. Watching television was free. Only it wasn’t free. You “paid” for that free service by watching some ads. Enough people bought stuff from those ads that the TV stations could stay in business and create more new stuff and broadcast it. The ads paid for the equipment and personnel to deliver that free stuff. In the UK and some other countries, I understand, one has to pay a license fee for TV. It’s not “free.”

Same thing with radio. Radio seems free but you contend with ads. AND . . . drum roll, please . . . the same thing with those of us who offer cool free stuff to our groups, email subscribers, communities, “target market.” Those pitches we send out pay for the servers and services, our time, the research we do, the emails we answer, the training we get, the books we read, the time we take to create the free and paid offerings, etc. etc.

I have answered thousands of questions about my work, about getting published, about becoming a speaker, about web-based marketing by email. I have put out lots of free valuable training and information to people on my list. I get a crushing amount of email each day, week and month. I pay lots of money each month to have the support systems in place to do all that. I spend hours of time on it. All unpaid.

I love giving stuff away for free. It makes the dopamine squirt into my brain. It’s more and more possible in this age of digital products and the Internet. My impulse is that when I learn or stumble across something new, cool and valuable, I want to tell everyone about it and get them to know about it or learn to benefit from it too. I want to continue to do that and make a good living doing it.

I know many of us are too busy and get too many emails and we don’t want any more. I know it’s a slight inconvenience for some.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not whining or trying to be snarky. Just upfront about this issue. I am incredibly grateful to people who have chosen to sign up for my email lists (about 7,000 so far). I feel blessed that my work is so widely known and read. That I got on Oprah. That my 30 books have been published and gotten out into the world. That I have been invited to speak in so many countries (27, I think, since someone counted them one time from a list of my workshops).

But, about the commercial aspect of things, I say: Get over it. Get used to it. This message was brought to you by . . . all the stuff I sell online that gives me the time to write these posts, write and give away free ebooks, handouts, slide programs, inspiring quotations, cool video links, book recommendations, music recommendations, useful research summaries, etc.

I’d be interested in your response to this. Please leave a comment below in the Leave a Reply box. [Hint: If you don’t see the place to comment, click the Comments link just below this post.]

37 Responses to “This message is brought to you by . . .”


  1. True…true…true….we are exposed to a richness of choices every day. I am at choice to read, or delete. For some reason, Bill, I always choose to read what you have to say. Perhaps it is because I know you’re a “real” person and not a huge conglomerate that doesn’t really care about being of service. Keep it up….I’m grateful for all that is offered.

  2. Marty Says:

    It is true subscribers can just delete or unsubscribe; it is also true that it is annoying to get multiple e-mails about the same exact offering. This is what seems over-the-top marketing and unseemly, crass, and greedy; once (maybe twice) is enough–I believe we’re all smart enough to get it the first time. Thanks for listening (I mean, reading!).

  3. Marty Says:

    I should note that I was referring to NICABM more so than Bill.


  4. I would think once is enough, Marty, but experience shows it’s not true. People are oblivious, busy, or something, but multiple messages about the same offering get way better results than one.

    I must admit that I have responded to something after getting several emails about it. I was busy or distracted the first time I saw it; or I intended to take advantage of it and then it got lost in the sea of emails I get.

    There has to be a fine balance between persistence (like the guy who said: I tried piano playing once; it didn’t work) and being obnoxious or turning people off. It’s hard to find, though.

    Maybe you are sharp and on top of it enough to always know at first glance whether something is for you or you will take up the offer, but others clearly aren’t.

  5. Tom Says:

    Your tenacity is admired by me Bill. Keep it up and coming! Even in my “elder years” it’s not that difficult for me to discern what’s valuable, interesting and generously given. Having been to a couple of your workshops and attending your presentations at a few conferences, I know you are “real”.

  6. Jim Harding Says:

    Bill,
    Thanks for the free “thank you” today. You really do have the ability to give an understandable description of very complex topics. It is almost like a wonderful “Readers Digest” version of complex topics. Oops – If I remember right that was your stated goal in your past presentations that I attended.
    Your Karma and your Law of Attraction are working for everyone you come into contact with. Keep up your great love of life.
    Jim Harding


    • Jim – Thanks. I miss seeing you on my trips to Iowa. It’s been too long.

      Yes, I like the Cliffs Notes/Reader’s Digest version to get the big picture. Sometimes that’s all I need. Sometimes it lets me know whether I want to dig deeper and go more in-depth about something.

      I’ve been blessed with an “outline” mind that requires that I make things clear for myself. Clarity begins at home, I guess. One I get it, I want to tell everyone else about that clarity.


  7. Bill,
    Thanks immensely for the reminder to all who read it, about the concept I was taught by a gracious alt-med practitioner for whom I worked: “Nothing happens until somebody buys something.” (I suppose that could also apply to the itellectual currency involved in “buying into” a practitioner’s particular brand of therapy.)

    I am glad that you are helping to make things happen in the therapy community, and with those who are curious about health of brain,mind and body.

    I myself often refer to Dr. Buczynski’s NICABM system of multiple reminders.

    With a couple of other organizations I have been invovled with, I have been frustratedby their their assumption that telling the class members only one time the details about an event would be sufficient.

    I like the way I can rely on NICABM to tell me that something is going to happen in a month, then again when it is two weeks away, one week away, tomorrow, etc. It has a nice nurturing feel to it. That is currently what works for me.

    For others, there is always the Delete key, and if they wish to they Unsubscribe (and later on they could re-subscribe, so it is not necessarily permanent deletion in this cyber-community).

    Thanks for your adaptability. Keep up the great work!!

    Ralph Wilson, ND, MS, BS, Human Being
    Washington DC


    • Dr. Ralph – I love that “Human Being” after the list of your academic/professional credentials. Isn’t that really the thing in the end? Being a human being. (And, of course, letting people know who you are and what you are offering.)

      I heard a distinction between “image marketing,” in which you are trying to put forth an idealized image of who you are (think Exxon with beautiful sunsets, when the reality was at the time, seabirds covered in oil), and “identity marketing,” in which you let people know who you are, what you do and what you are offering.

      I have spent a lifetime getting to know and be comfortable with who I am, flaws, quirkiness, good qualities and all. I want to connect with the people who seem to like and get value out of what I have to offer.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment and for your generous and wise perspective. -Bill

  8. allan Says:

    Bill,
    I realized in the past several months that you had definitely changed the style and goal of your emails. For years, I enjoyed the monthly possibillities, it’s free handout and announcements. I know you have logged many, many air miles and too many nights in motel beds and have changed your business model. It required me to let go of my old image of Bill and see the new Possibill. You are still a mentor and leader and offering new ways of doing things. I had stopped opening what looked like duplicates or offerings I wasn’t ready to buy but still observed how you do your marketing for when I am ready to move forward more deeply into the new technology.
    All the best to you in your new life choices.
    Allan


    • Thanks Allan. Yes, the world is changing, I’m changing, you’re changing. I hope we all continue to change and adjust those changes based on feedback, what works, what has integrity and what moves us forward and contributes to the world. I appreciate the accepting tone in your comment and you taking responsibility for managing those emails while still staying connected. I hope you are getting some sunny Spring weather in the Northwest.-Best, Bill

  9. Bruce Teall Says:

    Bill,

    Along with the other comments, I find that you hit a nice balance between free and for-sale products. Another thing that I appreciate is that your offers don’t hit me with the level of hype that is so popular among online direct marketers. I am sure that it must work, or we wouldn’t see it all the time, but it is a turn off. Again, thanks for staying “real.”


  10. Bill,

    I appreciate your willingness to share your knowledge and expertise on building a business online. There will aways be those who are critical and find fault. Ironically, those critical, negative types provide the parenting environment that keeps therapists like me in business. oh well.

    Monica

  11. Lee Horton Says:

    Bill,
    Imagine sending out hundreds of emails. Now imagine that these hundreds of emails bring joy to hundreds. However, they also irritate ten people. Now, allow yourself to send out this irritation knowing that you are bringing joy to hundreds;)
    Lee


    • Yes, good point. Years ago I almost stopped teaching because some person said something very mean and personal on a feedback form. I was so hurt and upset, I vowed to myself that I would stop; it wasn’t worth it. Luckily, on the long plane ride home, I got myself in hand. “There were 125 people at that workshop,” I thought finally, “and 123 of them liked it and rated it highly. One didn’t like it and another said something unkind. Are you going to let your sensitive, hurt feelings stop you from making contributions to the people who want and appreciate it?” That was in 1982.


  12. Bill,
    I always appreciate your emails! I may not get a chance to read them all, but I still appreciate getting them. The reason I appreciate them so much is your selfless generosity (At least I feel that it is selfless.) Yes you do your work to support your lifestyle, yet you also reach all of us with your wit, words, and wisdom. That is appreciated. I have really been enjoying the work that you and Ruth are doing together. It has been your emails that have gotten me to those teleseminars. It’s the trust I have in you and your generosity that have led me to buy. THANKS FOR ALL YOU DO!!!!
    Scott

  13. Janet Says:

    Thank you for a shift in perspective! Most of what I do to get myself and my products out there is online. I hesitate to send emails more than once a month, but alas, it is very true that a more regular presence is not only valuable but necessary. Likening more regular emails to TV commercials and radio is helpful for me. Honestly, regular ‘presence’ is how people notice. And although I really don’t love when people ‘unsubscribe’ (all 3 of them!) .. I myself unsubscribe from all lists that I just don’t get around to reading. Fair enough. But like you, I always try to offer some tool that is free and valuable. So, perhaps, I will ‘suck it up’ and send more regular emails.

    Thanks for being a human being. An authenttic human being to boot!

  14. Sandra Lundbergs Says:

    Hi Bill

    Thank-you for the free info. As others have said, I, too, always read your emails, as there is always something worthwhile, and I just love your unique take on things. Also that you are authentic in your communication. The whole marketing thing is particularly difficult for counsellor-types to get their heads around, with our focus on helping others. I love that you address the concerns up front to help people understand.
    We look forward to seeing you in Australia again soon. All the best,
    Sandra

  15. MsLiz Says:

    Amen, amen, amen!


  16. I attended your seminar a few years ago in Sydney Australia and you made your Power-Point available then and I was so thankful and enjoyed your generosity. Thank you for some of the current material you send. Generosity is an important life fruit that not many of the success books necessarily look at. Thanks. Vanessa (Faculty head of counselling Tabor College, Sydney, New South Wales)

  17. meg corser Says:

    I just want to say; more, much more irritating than getting info emailed more than once, are the individuals who complain about getting the emails more than once. As Bill says, just press a button and we no longer have to listen to Bill advising you to delete yourself and we could all enjoy more of Bill’s generousity of spirit and uplifting and life-affirming info. Thank you to both Bill and NICAMB

  18. Laurie Minuk Says:

    I’ve attended several of your workshops in Vancouver and always appreciated your spirit of generosity. I admire your courage in making this change in your work and I hope it allows you to live the most fulfilling lifestyle. Any successful advertising requires lots of repitition, so I don’t find it too much. Delete is easy! I miss the music of the workshops – James Taylor’s version of “Getting to Know you” is still a real brain worm for me. I had to track it down and buy it.


    • Thanks Laurie. Yes, that James Taylor song is one of my addictions as well. It’s on an obscure Disney CD called “For the Children” for anyone else who reads this and is curious about hearing it. But be warned; both Laurie and I are addicted and this is likely to happen to you as well.

  19. MsLiz Says:

    I for one am extremely grateful. Your emails have been like a tap-tap-tapping at the door of opportunity in my brain.

    Over a period of months I read some, deleted some, ignored some, read some more, went on with life. I was “too busy” to be interested, but chose not to unsubscribe because part of me was sooooo intrigued. Hoping there really was a possibility for me to take the same risks as you did, Bill.

    So I let those messages ferment in my brain, let the messages come and go, and then, POW!! During a crucial period of trying to brainstorm about how to make my future match my desires, here comes one of those messages… the timing was truly amazing.

    My website goes live next week! 🙂

  20. Aubrey Says:

    Hi Bill,

    My response is this:

    Those snarky people need to get over themselves. I am always thrilled to receive your emails, even when there’s nothing immediate in them for me. You’re a great role model. Your freebies are always valuable and often entertaining. And bonus: I get to feel connected to another caring spirit.

    Love and Namaste

  21. Mark Hirschfeld Says:

    Bill,
    As you must know by now by my constant appearance at your workshops and trainings, that you a mentor, teacher and the constant “voice in my head’ that has allowed me to get to the place I am professionally. The mantra of “I am looking forward your eighth book” resonates as I continue to write, learn and explore the possiBILLites of trance work and the phenomenon of hypnosis.

  22. Marty Says:

    I just came back to check on this thread: Bill, my complaint about multiple e-mails stands, and I do mean Ruth and NICABM, not you. You and other readers suggest to “just hit delete” and “get over it.” Sorry, but that get’s old and does take time–every little bit adds up; moreover, I’m less likely to sign up for anything if someone keeps bugging me about the same dang workshop or offering. The problem with “just unsubscribe” is that I DO want to continue to receive e-mails about NEW offerings. My complaint is not about the overall web site or person who is sending the e-mails and trying to sell something–I wouldn’t have signed up in the first place if I didn’t think it was worth checking out etc. A few reminders is enough, but Ruth’s are relentless. Thanks.


Leave a comment