The Flywheel of Fame

May 23, 2010
O'Hanlon flywheel of fame

Hard to get started, easier to keep going

I don’t know if you know what a flywheel is, but the picture above will start to give you an idea. It is a heavy wheel that is hard to get moving, but once it gets moving, it keep spinning for a long time. The faster you get it going at the beginning, the more the wheel picks up speed, as its own weight helps increase the speed.

I think this is a good analogy for the process of becoming well known and establishing yourself as an expert. When I first “got the call” to become a speaker and author, I was an unknown and nobody came knocking on my door saying, “We know you have lots to contribute; we’ll hire you and publish your books.”

I had to establish my reputation and learn to get my work out into the world. It was a lot of work, much of it didn’t yield any results, and I was often frustrated or stymied. But gradually, since I never gave up and just kept putting what I was passionate about and thought the world needed out there, little by little, successes and connections began to accumulate.

After some time, I noticed it was no longer me that was trying to convince people to hire me to speak, publish my books, and so on, I was starting to have to turn down offers and possibilities because I didn’t have the time to do it all. The flywheel effect was happening.

My point: The beginnings of your journey into Your Life of Freedom is hard; lots of work, some frustrations, lots of patience. But if you stick with it; work smart; build a reputation as an expert and find mentors, coaches and connection, sooner or later the flywheel of fame effect will occur.

One Response to “The Flywheel of Fame”


  1. Bill,
    Thanks for the great metaphor! It will help me when I get frustrated. Thanks for all you do.


Leave a comment